Thanks For The Memories, Harry!

I have some questions and commentary about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. So if you haven’t seen it or don’t already know how it ends, don’t read past the spoiler alert. If you don’t care one way or the other, you might as well keep reading.

*** SPOILER ALERT ***

David at a party at Barnes & Noble for the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in July 2007.

For the record, I knew from the first movie (didn’t start reading the books until I started reading them to David and Cameron when David was in kindergarten or first grade) that in the end Snape would turn out to be on Harry’s side. Even in the darker periods through the Order of the Phoenix and the Half-Blood Prince where it seemed like he was double-crossing him, I still believed there would be a twist.

And no I didn’t read ahead, and David and Cameron didn’t tell me. Although David did start naming people who died as he was reading the last book, which I wasn’t happy about. I actually need to read books five through seven because I quit reading them once the kids started reading them on their own.

Ok, but here’s the question I have. Because sometimes I’m simple and can’t follow movies with complicated plots (I don’t really understand any of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, but did like them. Ditto most anything James Bond. I’m afraid to see Inception because I’d probably walk out completely confused.)

Was Snape Harry’s father? There was no “Luke, I am your father moment,” so I’m still not quite sure. David didn’t know either. I’m kind of hoping not, because that’s so cliché, but I totally did not get that part. And I’m smart too, I was on Jeopardy, dammit. But that detail eluded me for some reason.

Anyway, good movie, nice ending to a fun ride. Monsters Inc. was the first movie David saw in the theatre. He was two months shy of his second birthday. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone opened the same night we took him. Where did ten years go?

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

Leave a Reply

