Giving Experiences For Christmas

Cameron and Justin both have birthdays coming up very soon. And with that, we usher in the season of toys that are played with for a week and then relegated to clutter in an already disorganized house.

Cameron’s getting a lava lamp, a wallet (he can’t seem to keep track of his money), and a pizza party for his birthday. Justin wants a stuffed elephant. Maybe we’ll take him bowling.

For Christmas this year, I decided to co-opt my good friend, Julie’s MO, and give “experiences” for gifts. I’m sure the kids will still be treated to a trinket or two, but it’s not going to be much. It can’t be. I’m still unemployed. They’ve had the gift of “Mom” for a year! They should appreciate it, dammit. My 401(k) is getting stale.

Anyway, I just scored deeply discounted orchestra box seats at the Ordway in St. Paul for the Broadway production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella. Alex and I will have a special date in December. We saw the same production done by the Chaska Valley Family Theater this spring, and Alex just adored it. Though the CVFT did an excellent job, something tells me it might be a bit grander on the Ordway stage.

I think David, my trumpet player, might need a little Minnesota Orchestra in his life. Too bad Doc Severinsen retired as pops conductor a few years ago. Now I just need to figure out what high culture to inflict upon the other two.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

3 thoughts on “Giving Experiences For Christmas

  1. I think that is awesome. They will never forget the experience. Toys will just lay in the box and a week later, they are no longer wonderful, but the theater will never go away.

Leave a Reply

