Groove Is In the Heart

So walking to my iPod last night made me realize how hopelessly unhip I am. The most recent song that played was released like two years ago. Any suggestions for cool new music (new music that’s NOT played on KDWB, that is–David and Cameron subject me to more Jay Sean, Lady Gaga, and Flo Rida than I’ll ever need) to pull me out of my time warp would be most welcome. Here’s what the Shuffle served up for me.

Danger Zone, Kenny Loggins (This is what I used to like to listen to weaving in and out of traffic at about 85-90 mph on 435 on my way to KC Royals games when I lived in Johnson County. Closest I’ll ever get to flying an F-15.)

Detours, Sheryl Crow

Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough, Michael Jackson

Groove Is In the Heart, Deee-Lite

The Safety Dance, Men Without Hats (Really too slow of a walking tempo, but ideal for dancing on tables.)

Elevation, U2 (I can’t believe Bono had emergency back surgery yesterday. I have tickets to their sold out concert at TCF Stadium in June. How could he do this to me?)

Pump It Up, Elvis Costello

Stupid Girl, Garbage

Happy Jack, The Who (What can I say, some of Barry’s stuff has managed to worm its way into my playlist.)

California Love, 2Pac & Dr. Dre (I’m all about the West Coast, yo.)

We Can Work It Out, The Beatles

Butterfly, Crazytown

Livin’ La Vida Loca, Ricky Martin (Don’t judge me, people. This hearkens me back to a time long ago, 1999, when I had no kids and used to come home from work and go walk the trails around The Preserve in Eden Prairie and there was a turtle family that hung out on a log that jutted out into Anderson Lake. And there were no iPods, just Walkmen, and there was a law that Livin’ La Vida Loca and Baby One More Time by Britney Spears had to get airplay on every radio station at least once an hour.)

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2010


2 thoughts on “Groove Is In the Heart

  1. I love your blog. It is real, exciting, and kind of secretly brilliant.

    I chose this post to comment on, because you mentioned driving at 85-90 mph on 435 to Royals games.

    My sister and I grew up in Belton, MO, merely minutes from Leawood, KS. My sister and I were gymnasts as children and we practiced at a couple of gyms in Lenexa and Olathe. Reading about 435 and weaving through traffic like an F-15 pilot reminded me of my mother driving us kids to practice.

    It’s good to see someone I don’t even know be familiar with a part of my childhood. 🙂

    • Thank you! I love the open stretches of highway in the KC metro area. Lots of lanes. Here in the Twin Cities it’s much tougher to find a straightaway like that!

Leave a Reply

