Oops, My Bad

After railing about my husband’s phantom ribcage pain here and about my 11 year-old’s drama here, it turns out that my husband is legitimately hurting with an angry ailment called the shingles, and my 11 year-old was sent home from school sick today because he has strep throat.

So I’m feeling a little bad about mocking them on my blog as an avenue to deal with my own frustration. Just a *little* bad. It was still funny. And Julie and I still had a really good laugh last night, which felt quite wonderful.

But yeah, buckle up because if you don’t know much about shingles, it’s a form of the chickenpox virus that can lie dormant in nerve endings. When it occurs it can be quite painful and can last for a couple weeks with residual nerve pain possibly continuing for several months.

So that’s going to be a lot of fun for me. At least my husband will get medication to deal with it on his end.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

One thought on “Oops, My Bad

Leave a Reply

