A Tangled Web We Weave

I think I tell more lies now than I ever did when I was a kid or even a teenager (and trust me, there were a few). This morning Justin and Alex told me in no uncertain terms that they were not getting dressed. Alex wanted to “stay home and watch a movie.” Because I was in no mood for an immense power struggle, I pulled out a tried and true trick. Bribery.

“If you guys get dressed we can stop at McDonald’s for a hash brown before we go to Karen’s.”

Worked like a charm. Of course Cameron overheard this and I knew he was thinking how it wasn’t fair, but strangely enough I didn’t hear any real protest out of him. Later when Alex mentioned it again and David overheard it, Cameron pulled David aside as the little ones and I headed out the door.

After swinging by McDonald’s and dropping them off at daycare, I got back home just as David and Cameron were getting ready to go to the bus stop. “So what was their reaction?” David asked.

“What?” I said.

“When you took them to Karen’s and didn’t take them to McDonald’s?” David asked, assuming I’d pulled a fast one on them.

“Oh, that. They weren’t happy,” I lied. “I had to promise them we’d go another time. How’d you know I was faking them out?”

“Mom, I knew as soon as you told them!” Cameron said.

Little does Cameron realize that it’s more important to keep up my credibility with the little guys than it is with he and David. I’m still amazed that they didn’t even pick up on the one I’d just pulled on THEM!

© Jennifer Alys Windholz

Leave a Reply

