Say what? Gadhafi or Sheen?

Pop quiz today. In case you’ve been living under a rock, Libyan dictator, Moammar Gadhafi, and star of CBS sit-com Two and a Half Men, Charlie Sheen have both been having some trouble at the office. They’ve also both taken quite frequently to the airwaves, and I’m not entirely convinced they’re not the same person. Below is a list of 30 quotes. Who uttered which statement? Gadhafi or Sheen? Answers revealed tomorrow.

It's all about military details.

“They love me. All my people with me, they love me.”
“I said what I’m convinced and I didn’t really bother that much about the reactions.”
“Besides, if they want me to step down, what do I step down from?”
“Don’t say ‘I understand’ – you don’t understand. And the world doesn’t understand.”
“Switzerland is behind it all.”
“These are cases of youthful exuberance.”
“No one is talking about throwing Jews into the sea.”
“Dance, sing and prepare.”
“I’m a fighter, I’m a struggler”
“They have been brainwashing the kids and young people… teaching them how to misbehave.”
“Who can bring back the wealth that was taken to me?”
“All of you are asleep. All of you are tired. It is clear that all of you are lacking the energy because of having to travel a long journey.”
“Anyone who does not speak the truth is a silent devil.”
“Earth is not meant for some. It is meant for all of us. And we can never live humiliated on this Earth, no.”
“Now they are awakening from the hallucinogenic drugs which were given to them.”
“I am grandiose because I live a grandiose life.”
“I am special and I will never be one of you.”
“It’s perfect. It’s awesome. Every day is just filled with just wins.”
“We win so radically in our underwear before our first cup of coffee, it’s scary.”
“People say it’s lonely at the top, but I sure like the view.”
“I’m not wearing a golden sombrero,”
“I’m gonna say this. It’s a polygamy story.”
“There’s a ton of nobility in this house.”
“Bang. There are some of your lessons, but the real lessons are gonna be in the future.”
“We need him and we need his wisdom and his bitchin’-ness.”
“Because they just need to take a step back and say, ‘Wow, wow, look what this guy’s doing for us, for all of us.'”
“If you destroy my family then I will deal with you with violent hatred.”
“I go to jail, I lose all my power.”
“I’m extremely old-fashioned. I’m a nobleman. I’m chivalrous.”
“I’m sure the world will know soon enough.”

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

One thought on “Say what? Gadhafi or Sheen?

  1. In case you actually attempted the quiz, the answers are pretty simple. The first 15 quotes are Gadhafi and the last 15 are Charlie Sheen. But nearly all are interchangeable. And frightening to think that really Gadhafi’s are saner, especially if you compare them to ones that I didn’t include, like “I have a 10,000 year-old brain and a 7 year-old’s boogers.”

Leave a Reply

