No Offense

I have nothing original to say tonight so I’m reaching back into the archives. January 6, 2009. David as a third-grader. Some names have been changed to protect the innocent.

David:  “Mom, I HATE Lacie. She told Taylor that I had a crush on her.  So I threw snow at her and she started crying.”
Me:  “That wasn’t very nice.”
David:  “I know, but WHY did she have to tell her?”
Me:  “Well, what did Taylor say now that she knows?”
David:  “That she was going to kill me.”
Me:  “Lacie said that or Taylor?”
David:  “Taylor.  Mom, she is one of the toughest girls I know.  She gave her brother a black eye.”
Me:  “Then why do you have a crush on her?”
David:  “Because she’s pretty.”
Me:  “Well, does she like you?”
David:  “No.”
Me:  “Then I guess you’ll have to find a girl who is nice.”
David:  “None of the pretty girls are nice.”
Me:  “Well, then find one who IS nice.”
David:  “Mom, the girls who are nice aren’t pretty.  No offense.”

So does he mean no offense that I’m not nice or no offense that I’m not pretty?

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

Leave a Reply

