Tom and Jerry Redux

I got quite a few comments about my Tom and Jerry video yesterday. It seems natural to finish out the topic with a quote from David when he was three. One afternoon I let him watch cartoons before taking a nap. I heard him laughing at Tom and Jerry.

Later that night, as I was putting David to bed, he said, as if he had something very important to say and had ruminated about it all day, “Mommy?”

“Yes, David?” I said.

“Tom isn’t very careful with ladders.” His tone was that of simple observation with the slightest hint of contempt for Tom’s ineptitude.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

Leave a Reply

