I Know It Was You

It’s finally warmed up enough to where the kids are playing with friends outside again. Along with that comes the squabbles and playground muck that happens naturally between kids. I typically stay out of most of it, but I do notice that Cameron seems to be disproportionately on the receiving end of a lot of the more aggressive behavior, particularly from David’s friends, who are older. Somehow it’s always an “accident,” and David defends his friends.

Like last year, I think it’s time to revisit the “don’t ever take sides with anyone against the family again” doctrine. If David doesn’t start sticking up for his younger brother, he’s going to be on Fredo’s side of the kiss.

“I know it was you, Fredo. You broke my heart.”

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

 

One thought on “I Know It Was You

  1. When I was – oh – 9yrs old (maybe), a neighbor girl was making fun of me. My brother heard the endless taunts and teasing, came over to where we were standing, picked up the girl and lifted her to the side. He then said, “Don’t you every treat my sister that way again.” Since then, my brother has been my own personal hero.

Leave a Reply

