1 Of 1,000 Things My Kids Have Broken

I’m starting a new feature. Unfortunately I have no doubt it will become a recurring segment. I can’t think of a clever name for it at the moment, though. It’s basically going to be pictures of things my kids have destroyed, accidentally, recklessly, or otherwise. Stay tuned.

There is a blog out there already called Sh*t My Kids Ruined, which is quite a funny site, but I have enough material to fill up my own site and then some. So in lieu of submitting to their parade of household tragedies perpetrated by little monsters, I figured I could just share here. Plus this way I’ll have a cumulative evidentiary record if I ever decide to sue them when they have money of their own.

Today I bring you this.

This is a glass from the Niebaum-Coppola Estate Winery in Rutherford, California. My husband and I spent a day in Napa Valley during our honeymoon trip to San Francisco in 1998. We visited several vineyards in the Napa area on that gorgeous, sunny August afternoon. This one was by far my favorite. Not only because the wine was excellent, or that the winery belonged to Francis Ford Coppola, who directed The Godfather, which along with The Godfather Part II, are two of my favorite all-time movies, but the whole experience was so relaxing, peaceful and romantic. The setting was framed against a backdrop of rows and rows of grapes on sunsplashed hills, and the charming chateau was inviting and intimate.

I saw Alex playing with this, pretending it was a cup of poison, holding it up high with both hands ala the Queen in Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. I told him that was cute, but to put it back in the hutch where it belonged because I didn’t want him to break it. I turned around to stir some spaghetti sauce. When I looked back not 30 seconds later, he was hiding underneath his little coloring table. Houston, we have a problem. And when I fished him out, the glass was in three pieces, one of which was unaccounted for.

The glass has little monetary value. I acquired it after tasting a flight of different wines from the Coppola selections that day. I think the tasting fee was maybe $12. But the sentimental value was high. Oh well. I understand that since our visit, the name changed from Niebaum-Coppola to Rubicon Estates, and most recently Mr. Coppola restored the original name of Inglenook, which was the name when it was founded in 1879. So the Niebaum-Coppola Estate no longer really exists. Even so, I liked that glass.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

3 thoughts on “1 Of 1,000 Things My Kids Have Broken

  1. Pingback: 1 Of 1,000 Things My Dog Has Ruined « Sunflower Girl

  2. Pingback: 2 Of 1,000 Things My Kids Have Broken « Sunflower Girl

  3. Pingback: Making Up Is Hard To Do | Sunflower Girl

Leave a Reply

