Happy Easter!

Over the years Easter has become one of my favorite holidays. There just isn’t as much pressure to do it perfectly. Get to church early, have a nice brunch, hide a few eggs, enjoy (hopefully) the weather, that’s it. Nice and relaxing.

I baked a ham this year, which I’ve never done before. It was amazing if I do say so myself. Even the kids were eating the leftovers like crazy. I went for a walk with the dog, David, Cameron and Alex. It was fun just to watch Alex go up ahead of us, skipping down the sidewalk, like the happiest four year-old in the world. The kids played basketball in the driveway most of the day, and other than when Cameron hit Justin in the neck with the stick end of a rake, they got along fairly well. I watched Tangled with Alex. Barry and I sat outside talking with our friends after dinner. Easter Mass with Fr. Paul was lovely, other than Alex not wanting to pass on the collection basket because I only gave him dollars and no quarters to put in, and Justin pocketing the money I gave him to put in, and then David making him cry by telling him he was stealing from Jesus. Penny ate herself stupid today. She had all of the treats inside her Easter eggs, and somehow stole two big chunks of cheese, a Hershey’s miniature, and someone’s egg filled with jelly beans.

All in all, a good day.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

Leave a Reply

