Puppy Love

It’s been a sad week with my parents’ sweet dog, Scout passing away. These animals we take into our homes and love just like a family member are with us for such a short time, and then the grief with their passing is so heavy, you wonder why you would open yourself up to that kind of pain.

And then you’re reminded why. Penny has been with us for less than a year, yet she’s already become the boys’ little caretaker. Last night a loud and windy thunderstorm rolled through right after bedtime. Penny didn’t snuggle up with me in her usual spot. Instead she went over to Alex’s room and laid down at his feet, vigilantly standing guard as if to make sure that the thunder didn’t affect him.

Tonight Alex woke up shortly after going to sleep. He was only half-awake and crying about something itching. I couldn’t calm him down or figure out what he wanted. Penny got up from her comfy spot, came over, and sat by me, looking at me with a concerned expression as if to say, “Well, aren’t you going to do something about this?”

She wouldn’t leave until he settled down. I’ve cried on her shoulder a couple of times since we’ve had her, and I know the kids have too. She kisses your tears away and stays by your side until she knows you’re all right. Or until someone offers her a piece of cheese. Cheese always takes precedence over everything else, but I can’t fault her for that.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

4 thoughts on “Puppy Love

  1. Wonderful post, SG. My condolences on your family’s loss of Scout. The grief is strong when a beloved pet passes. And yet, as you say, we are soon ready to take another one into our hearts. It’s because we can’t stand the empty space a pet leaves when they do.

    I think I know why it doesn’t take long for the heart strings to intertwine though. It’s because pets give such unqualified love…no judging, no guilt trips, no strings attached. They give everything they have in their little bodies and great hearts.

  2. What a wonderful friend you and your family have in four legged Penny. We have two pups, and we love them dearly. My heart goes out to you with the loss of Scout. I still miss my Lina-loo, a pooch who lived for 13yrs. Dogs are the best of the best.

    • She’s a sweetie. She still has a few too many accidents in the house and we need to be more aggressive about breaking her of her jumping on us like crazy when she hasn’t seen us for a long time, but the good outweighs the bad a thousand-fold. Thanks for your thoughts about Scout. It’s probably easier for me because I don’t live with him and feel the void of him not being around. My mom said she finished a bowl of ice cream the other night and it was sad because Scout wasn’t there to clean out the bowl.

Leave a Reply

