Picture Perfect Evening

Sitting here on a summer solstice night, enjoying the cool breeze rustling through the curtains, listening to some reggae, editing some photos, and reflecting on what a nice day it’s been. One of my saltier posts, Drop And Give Me Twentywas featured as Freshly Pressed on the WordPress homepage, so that was a very nice surprise.

The highlight of my day, though, was my five-year old cleaning up my entire living room and kitchen by himself, without being asked. He also asked our 11 year-old neighbor girl out on a date, and announced that they would be getting married tomorrow. He works fast.

Anyway, I thought I’d post some of my favorite photos from late spring.

  • Trees at twilight at Lake Ann Park, Chanhassen, Minnesota.
  • A pretty chestnut mare in Russell, Kansas. Her name is Lena.
  • My 11 year-old son, David. I love the simplicity of this close-up. Reminds me of his baby face.
  • Mourning dove on a rooftop.
  • Senator Bob Dole with his wife and daughter at the 2011 Prairiesta parade in his hometown, Russell, Kansas.
  • Thunderstorm in Russell County, Kansas. Not the greatest shot, but the first time I’ve ever captured a lightning strike. And I did it without a tripod or a trigger!
  • Spring tulips and sun flare at the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum.
  • My dad and my sister decked out for Prairiesta, a celebration held every ten years to celebrate the founding of Russell, Kansas.
© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011
5 thoughts on “Picture Perfect Evening

    • That’s great! Glad I could get you some traffic! You know, I still haven’t done anything with the Versatile Blogger award you bestowed upon me. I need to get on that. I, uh, tend to procrastinate.

Leave a Reply

