Impure Thoughts

As a parent I try hard not to have happy thoughts. They’ll get you in trouble every time. After a rough morning, and a rough early afternoon, once the pool was drained and the mud cleaned out, and refilled, Alex was inside sleeping and David, Cameron and Justin were all getting along and playing baseball together. I finished the book I was reading, then soaked up some rays in the pool.

As the glorious sun warmed my shoulders and I rested my head on the side of the pool, I allowed those bad thoughts to creep in. This is the life, I thought. I’ve finally made it to where the kids are at the ages where I can just relax and not have to spend every two minutes refereeing a fight or feeding someone, or helping someone fix something, or keeping a kid from running in the street. I can just enjoy the peace.

That lasted another five minutes and it was all downhill from there for the rest of the day. By 10:00 pm I was ready to cancel all 4th of July festivities and just lock them in their rooms for the rest of the weekend.

Serenity now.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

Leave a Reply

