Your Time Is Now, Young Nephew!

My younger brother was somewhat of a hellion as a child. Never a bad-intentioned kid, just a curious and energetic boy with absolutely no fear and zero regard for consequences. Constantly breaking things, getting into mischief, never sitting still. I, on the other hand, was a quiet little girl, liked to read and draw, never once got into trouble at school, really barely made a peep in class or on the bus.

So when I had a son who exhibited all of Chad’s behaviors, I wondered why the “curse” had gone awry. Everyone knows about the curse. “Someday I hope you have a kid who acts just like you.” Somehow I’d been assigned my brother’s child. Imagine my thoughts when Chad had a son, Gavyn, who was the sweetest, most content, non-temperamental, angelic little baby ever born. It hardly seemed fair.

So a couple of weeks ago when Chad sent an e-mail saying that Gavyn had managed to throw his iPhone into the toilet, I kind of chuckled to myself. What goes around comes around, little brother. Buckle up.

Tomorrow Gavyn turns one. He’s mobile, he’s fast, he’s cute, and he has a look in his eye that says he’s ready for some trouble. Give him hell, little guy! Happy birthday, cutie!

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

2 thoughts on “Your Time Is Now, Young Nephew!

  1. Awesome. I couldn’t help but smile the whole way through. My son is a wee mischief maker too, with so much energy i wonder where it all comes from. My daughter is a bit grumpy, but already at one is displaying tendancies towards learning, reading, drawing. I think they will have a similar relationship to you and your brother. 🙂 Nice to read an adults take on the sibling differences. 🙂

Leave a Reply

