Goodwill Hunting

With my brother in one of his fave 70's sport coats. It's possible that Elvis may be a figment of my imagination. I was pretty drunk.

My brother enjoys shopping at thrift stores for Halloween costumes (i.e. Ron Burgundy, Cousin Eddie, etc.) or his “vintage” wardrobe (i.e. mint green pants, double-knit, collar-out-to-elbows shirts, white dress shoes, etc.). I haven’t set foot in one since shopping for wardrobe and props for school plays.

Until this week. I was looking for some larger frames for photos on the cheap. I found some, many nearly new and in good shape, and others with much more character than generic sleek black or brushed brass department store stuff.

What I also found was soooooooo much more! Spectacularly awesome stuff.

Remember the 90's and Doc Martens? If you hold it up to your ear, you can hear Soundgarden.

Do you have anything with a gender-ambiguous Swedish masseuse acting casual?

The hexagon is an underused element in furniture design today. You just don't see them.

You don't see Donna Summer much anymore either.

Aww, Grandma's crochet doilies. Or potholders? Placemat?

I wonder what the significance of 12:58 is? Hopefully not time of death.

Finally! I can't wait until Hugo goes Canadian. Shit's gonna get real then.

The cowboy from the Village People shops here!

If it prevents my kid from turning into a douchebag like the kid in the sunglasses I'll read it.

I think Chad already has one of these.

Um, this seems a little bit (or a lot actually) racist.

Isn't five plus two...seven? This is fucking AUTOGRAPHED though. By at least 5 of them.

There's a nerd out there somewhere missing this from his collection.

Bet this ol' gal didn't live half the life that the "Green Machine" did!

Shout out to Angie! I know how she enjoys a nice pair of slacks!

These are all damaged. I don't weigh 115 pounds on any of them.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

 

 

3 thoughts on “Goodwill Hunting

  1. Pingback: Goodwill Tour | Sunflower Girl

  2. Pingback: Gonna Pop Some Tags | Sunflower Girl

  3. Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, great blog!

Leave a Reply

