At Least We Weren’t Discussing Uranus

I’m incredibly grouchy again today so I went looking for something that would make me smile. I found it. August 29, 2006. A conversation I had with Cameron, then the age of almost four after a trip to the Minnesota State Fair.

We were riding the bus home from the fair, and it was a clear and pretty night. Cameron was looking out the window and pointed out the big crescent moon in the western sky. I took the opportunity to throw in a little science lesson, and said, “Do you see that big star above the moon?” It took a minute, but he found it.

I said, “That looks like a star, but it’s actually another planet. It’s called Venus.”

Cameron: “Venus?”

Me: “Yep, it’s a planet, but it looks like a big star.”

Cameron: “What’s it called again?”

Me: “Venus.”

Cameron: “Venus?”

Me: “Yep.”

Cameron: “Look, the moon is following us!”

Me: “Yeah, it is.”

Cameron: “What’s that white thing called again?”

Me: “Venus.”

Cameron: “Venus?”

Me: “Yes, it’s the planet that looks like a star.”

Cameron: “Yep, there’s Venus again.”

Long pause.

Cameron: “Mom?”

Me: “What?”

Cameron: “Is Venus a bad word?”

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

One thought on “At Least We Weren’t Discussing Uranus

  1. hahaha ohhh your title reminded me of the year we did the planets and low and behold for the life of me EVERY TIME I had to say Uranus I ended up being brought back to 7th grade and giggling like a little school girl. I was so ashamed especially since the kids had no idea what was so funny.

Leave a Reply

