Angry Playlist

I wasn’t a Boy Scout, obviously, but I do know that it’s good to be prepared. So when I found myself extremely pissed off about something today, and wanted to blow off some steam with music, I realized that on my iPod I have a playlist for jazz, classical, mellow, dance, driving, and summer, but nothing for “angry.”

I’m not going to be caught in that position again. Now I’ve got it ready to go at a moment’s notice. It’s kind of inferior though, I’m not really big into your death metal or gangsta rap or other music forms that express youth frustration and rage. Kind of a bummer, dude. Sometimes you need to thrash.ย Also, it seems to be skewed heavily toward the 90’s. What the hell were we all so mad about? Anyway, I give you “Jennifer’s ANGRY Playlist.”

  • Come Out and Play, The Offspring
  • Everything Zen, Bush
  • I Alone, Live
  • I Hate Myself for Loving You, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts
  • It’s Been Awhile, Staind
  • Into the Sun, The Parlor Mob
  • Let It Rock, Kevin Rudolf & Lil Wayne
  • Mr. Cab Driver, Lenny Kravitz
  • My Generation, The Who
  • Only, Nine Inch Nails
  • Ready to Go, Republica
  • Sunday Bloody Sunday, U2
  • That’s Not My Name, The Ting Tings
  • This Is A Call, Foo Fighters
  • You Can’t Keep Me, Amy LeVere

ยฉ Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

93 thoughts on “Angry Playlist

  1. GREAT list — there’s an old song by Ugly Kid Joe called “(I Hate) Everything About You” that would be fun to add. And I love “Misery” by Maroon 5, mostly because it’s such a frikkin’ upbeat song — with such a depressing name. Love dichotomies like that…

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love this idea–you’re right, it’s so useful.
    One suggestion, I’d replace the Staind with Tilly and the Wall’s “Pot Kettle Black,” from the Whip It soundtrack. Actually, there are a few other good songs from that same movie that’d fit.
    Here’s hoping you don’t need the playlist too often!

    -Dani

    • I’ll have to check that one out, thanks for the suggestion!

      Luckily I don’t need it that often, that’s why I didn’t have it when I needed it!

      I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  3. Angry music is so good for getting rid of stress, can’t add to the list cause my choices would be a bit more hardcore, but Foo Fighters are always good for a fast song to get the adrenaline flowin, The Pretender is great

  4. Rage Against the Machine is always a good one, as are selections from Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains. Man, we WERE angry in the 90s, weren’t we!? Great list.

    BTW, the “Angry List” also works well as “The Treadmill List.” Just saying…

  5. Cool post, being a music-lover myself. We all need to be armed with an Angry playlist, indeed. I checked and heard each song on your list just now. Many new names for me! You Can’t Keep Me was nice. From them, I knew of Bloody Sunday, My Generation; and already enjoy Ready to Go and That’s Not My Name on my almost-full Walkman (loyal Sony customer). Ready to Go is almost an evergreen.

    Might I make some input? Instead of I Hate Myself for Loving You I’d go for Keep Me Hangin’ On by Kim Wilde which is very similar in theme but gentler harmony. Definitely consider Fighter by Christina Aguilera — I can’t imagine an angry playlist fully complete without it!

    • Fighter is a good song, didn’t think of that one. I like that Kim Wilde song, but it’s actually kind of a good mood song for me. Brings back nice memories of when it was on the radio all the time!

      Thanks for your thoughts!

  6. I think this is so clever. So many people have playlists on their iPod or mp3 player depending on the mood they are in or what kind of music they feel like listening to. It’s great because other people can use these ideas to add to their own list of angry music. I also really like the picture that was added, I think it puts a nice touch on the post.

  7. Even my generation has angry music; anyone ever hear of “You’re no Good” by Carol King, or “That’s What you Get For Lovin’Me” by Peter,Paul and Mary? The Kingston Trio had a song that echoes its meaning today. It’s about how everyone hates everyone else, and ends with the lines: Italians hate Yogoslavs, South Africans hate the Dutch, And I don’t like anybody very much!

    Ronnie

    • I’ve heard “You’re No Good.” She doesn’t really mince words on that one! I’ve never really listened to the Kingston Trio, might have to give that a whirl!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Your playlist is really good compared to other people’s. You have good, fast, upbeat music. -But your playlist doesn’t dwell too much on the ‘angry’ part. I think a really good angry playlist is one that not only deals with the angry need to be loud, fast and break shit-but also to move on and be loud fast and no longer angry at the world.

    So Thanks for that.

  9. Nine Inch Nails are a good choice, but my own favourites for angry mood music would come from the ranks of the folk metallists: Finntroll (Nedgang), Waylander (Born to the Fight), Cruachan (I am Warrior), Enisferum (Sword Chant), and so on. Nothing like a bit of Celtic or Viking mayhem when the blood is up. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Nice. Very nice. So close to what I was about to post, you’ve saved me an awful lot of time choosing stuff. I might’ve chosen En Maktig Har myself, but that was the first Finntroll song I heard, so I’m biased, and I’d not heard Cruachan before (shameful, I know), so I’ll go listen to them now.

      Also: Turisas – Cursed Be Iron. \m/

      Folk metal is great.

    • Folk metallists, that’s a new category for me, but definitely sounds like something I should check out. I do love Celtic music when it gets going.

      Your croft in Scotland looks beautiful. I’ve always wanted to visit there. The land looks so rough and moody and pristine.

      Thanks for your comment!

  10. Awesome list, I might have to steal a few. I have a playlist like this as well that I call my “Get your Frustrations Out” list. Hoobastank’s Out of Control seems to be the song that I gravitate to when I am pissed, although I also throw old school NIN in sometimes as well.

  11. Maybe I’m weird, but most of these songs don’t make me angry. It’s Been a While makes me cry. My Generation makes me happy. Sunday Bloody Sunday makes me reflect. That’s Not My Name makes me feel empowered. Come Out and Play on the other hand, that’s definitely on my Angry playlist.

    • No, you’re not weird, you’re right. It’s more about working out the feelings than dwelling on the anger. Getting the tears out, reflecting, and feeling empowered. All part of the process of releasing the toxic feelings.

      Thanks for your comments!

  12. Awesome list. Too bad you are not into some of the heavier rock. I have tons of songs to suggest. Puts me in mind of plenty of Marilyn Manson, Shinedown, Korn, Seether, Rammstein, 30 Seconds to Mars, System of a Down and the list goes on! (can you tell that I am always angry deep down inside? ;))

    • Lol, I think it’s because I’m the opposite…not terribly angry deep down inside, that I really can’t listen to anything quite that harsh for any long period of time. It just puts me on edge rather than helping. But if you’re into that, those are all great choices!

      Thanks for your thoughts!

  13. Great playlist. I always listen to Come Out and Play, The Offspring, Sunday Bloody Sunday, U2 and This Is A Call, Foo Fighters when I’m pissed off.

  14. AWESOME playlist. I feel like we could be friends lol. Here’s some suggestions just to beef it up a little:
    Damian Rice – Rootless Tree (best chorus ever for when you’re PO’ed)
    Three Days Grace – I Hate Everything About You.
    Ben Folds – Fired
    Pink Floyd – What Do You Want From Me
    Foo Fighters – Monkey Wrench
    Beyonce – Ring the Alarm/Irreplacable…if you need to get you’re angry lady swagger on
    Ben Harper – Show Me a Little Shame.
    The Living End – Prisoner of Society
    Wow…a lot of those were 90’s…hmmm we were an angry bunch weren’t we?

    • Lol, find me on Facebook!

      I haven’t heard of some of those, will have to go find them and have a listen. Yes, we were all royally pissed off in the 90’s. Not sure why. I think we had it pretty good back then!

  15. I’m not sure if I like the idea – but if I knew I did I’d include “I put a spell on you” Marilyn Manson

    If I wanted to get calm from my anger it would be: “musica poetica” Carl Orff

  16. It’s always good to be prepared with the right list.
    Not to take you too far back, but “Rough Boys” by Pete Townsend is a good one – as well as The Who’s “Won’t Get Fooled Again”. Awesome scream in that one.

  17. Nice playlist!
    I’m more into punk and metal and it always makes me feel good/better. Like if I’m angry, it makes me happy. And if I’m happy, it makes me even happier. Actually, those who know me often tell me they don’t understand my love for extreme metal, gutteral growls and distorted guits, because, according to them, I am “so quiet.”
    Truth is, the reason I’m quiet is because I listen to metal. I let it do all the screaming for me ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. Excellent! I’d add..

    “Destroy” by the Eyeliners (Featuring Joan Jett)
    “Welcome to the Jungle” by Guns N’ Roses
    “Attitude” by the Misfits
    “Scream Out” by the Unseen

  19. WOW! Great list!

    I would add “These boots are made for walkin’ ” ( Nancy Sinatra )

    And lets sing ….”one of these days these boots are gonna walk all over YOU! ”

    Feelin’ less angry already……

  20. That’s not my name is one of my angry songs too! I used to listen to it becuase all the teachers would get my name wrong. I won’t name any names *coughs* Ms Hogben! Every textiles lesson!

  21. I lvoe The Offspring, too. Amanda Palmer is great, too- try “Runs in the Family” and Dresden Dolls’ “Coin Operated Boy.” I also love Evanescence’s “Call Me When You’re Sober.” It’s so fun to just belt it out!

    • That’s totally a chill-out song though! Even if the lyrics are about a teenager going on a killing spree…

      I like “Breakout” by Foo Fighters as an angry song. There’s really nothing they can’t do. Oooh I can’t go past “One Step Closer” by Linkin Park either. There’s something about the screaming in both songs that I find weirdly soothing.

Leave a Reply

