Kein Krieg Im Golf!

This Occupy Wall Street business is interesting. What I enjoy most are the signs. The ones I’ve seen are half-assed and misspelled messes with some rambling thought scrawled with a Sharpie on a piece of cardboard.

The Soviet-inspired architecture of the Studentenwohnungen of the Munich Olympiazentrum.

For some reason it reminds me of when I studied in Munich, Germany. The building I lived in backed up to a retail area, and to get there you’d go under kind of an alleyway between buildings. Every time I went to the shitty little grocery store back there, I’d pass a support beam with some graffiti on it.

“KEIN KRIEG IM GOLF!”

That translates to “No war in the Gulf.” Just below it, written in pencil (undoubtedly by some smartass American or cheeky Brit), was:

“What about the Ryder Cup?”

For some reason I chuckled every time I passed it. Even now it makes me grin. Something about the righteous seriousness juxtaposed against the light-hearted silliness is funny.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

Leave a Reply

