Black Friday

So I’m contemplating heading out shopping at midnight. I’ve never done that, usually because by the time I’ve spent all day dealing with four kids, I’m completely wiped out, and the thought of being extra sleep-deprived, and having to start it all over again in a few hours has never appealed to me.

But there is an awesome deal on a TV. And Justin’s already sleeping. They aren’t the handful they used to be, though each of them drive me nuts in their own special ways.

I have no idea how to go about this. I’m not aggressive when it comes to shopping, because normally I don’t care. I’ve become a bit anti-consumerism over the last few years, for precisely this reason. Because people make idiots of themselves lining up and storming the doors for the world’s cheapest PlayStation.

But $298 for a 46″ TV…when we’re probably the last household on earth who doesn’t have a really nice HD flat screen TV, and my kids remind me on a daily basis how uncool we are. The thought is tempting, but I really don’t want to put that much work into it. We shall see. I still have a couple of hours to think it over.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2011

4 thoughts on “Black Friday

    • God no. I was ready to pack it in by 10:00 as the idea became less appealing by the minute. But I made the mistake of telling my 11 year-old son about it, and he got all fired up about coming along (you know, the intrigue of being out and about at midnight). He started whining when I was backing out so we cruised up there at about 11:20, saw the line wrapped around the building and promptly came back home to warm beds.

Leave a Reply

