Sanity Watch: Day One

Today was my first official day as a “stay-at-home-mom.” Other than making breakfast, getting kids dressed, walking Justin to the bus stop, letting the dog in and out, running errands with Alex, waiting for Justin at the bus stop, cleaning up everyone’s random junk everywhere, making lunch, cleaning up the kitchen, folding laundry, doing a craft project with Justin and Alex, begging and bribing them to take a nap (to no avail), giving baths, fixing toys, refereeing fights, getting dinner ready, helping with homework, and putting more of everyone’s stuff away, I accomplished nothing. And that was even with everyone spending a good hour outside this afternoon.

Here’s the only thing I have to show for the day. We made paint chip bookmarks for Valentine’s Day. Cost: a trip to Menards for free paint cards, and $1.50 worth of ribbon at Michaels. I’m worried about myself, folks. This lifestyle does not suit me. I’m concerned that pretty soon Spongebob and Patrick are going to sound normal to me.

Paint chip bookmarks. Outta my way, Martha.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2012

3 thoughts on “Sanity Watch: Day One

  1. Stay-at-home parenting is a learned “art” for some of us. Sure didn’t come natural for me! After 13 years, I think I *might* finally be settling into the role.

    Love the bookmark idea! I’m going to have to steal that.

  2. Have to agree with Annie. It took a LONG time to settle in. Now I work from home and will have a hard time adjusting to life in the real world again when I do go back to work. Give it time, and make time for yourself!

Leave a Reply

