I Wanna Get Out Now

Why I accomplish nothing during the day. Imagine this, with about two minutes between each line, some whiny, some in tears.

“Mom! *I* wanted to go to the bus with Justin!!! WHY DIDN’T YOU TAKE ME? I SAID FOR YOU TO!”
“I want breakfast.”
“Penny’s going downstairs.”
“Mom! This is not the kind of oatmeal I wanted. I wanted the kind with the strawberries.”
“Mom!”
“Mom! I said for you to wipe my hands.”
“Mom, can you help me go to the bathroom?”
“Stay in here.”
“But turn around.”
“I’m almost done.”
“Done!”
“I wanna watch the Bigfoot show. WHY did you not tape it? I wasn’t scared of it!”
“Did you tape The Wizard of Song? WHY NOT???”
“MAAHHHM! PENNY’S GOT MY DOLL!!!”
“I’m hungry.”
“Can you get me a string cheese?”
“Mom! This string cheese has stuff on it.”
“MAAHHHMM! Penny got my string cheese!”
“Now I need another one.”
“Oh MOM! Come over here right now! Get the remote. Now go back. Can I get that for my birthday?”
“Can I have a piece of gum?”
“Can I take a bath?”
“Mom, the water is too cold!”
“MAAHHHM!!! It’s too hot!”
“Can you bring me my doll with the swimming suit?”
“I need more hot water.”
“I wanna get out now.”
“Can you wrap the towel around me like a hula girl?”
“Mom! It fell off!”
“It fell off AGAIN! This is SO STUPID! WHY DIDN’T YOU PUT IT RIGHT? I TOLD YOU TO DO IT RIGHT!!!”
“I’m cold.”
“Can you get me a new shirt? This one got wet.”
“I don’t like this shirt.”
“I’m playing Dorothy in my room. Where’s her basket?”
“Can you help me find her basket?”
“WHERE IS HER BASKET? WON’T YOU HELP ME FIND IT?”
“Oh, that’s okay. Can you do her ponytails?”
“But I lost the ribbons. Where are they?”
“MAHHHHAMMM! Penny gots my Dorothy!”
“I’m thirsty.”
“I want lunch. Give me a hot dog. When is Justin coming back? I DON’T WANNA WAIT UNTIL JUSTIN COMES BACK!”
“Penny got your shoe!”
“Can I play a game on your phone?”
“Mommy? Can you bring me my blanket?”
“Oh Mom, come over here! Can I get that for my birthday?”
“Can you help me go to the bathroom?”
“Can I have a cupcake? WHY DON’T WE HAVE CUPCAKES? I WANTED cupcakes!”
“Oh Mom, you gotta come see this, they’re diggin’ up treasure.”

Repeat. All. Day. Long. Double when Justin comes home from school. Then add fighting and yelling when David arrives, and mischief and mayhem once Cameron is back in the mix.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2012

Leave a Reply

