Bad Encounter

As I walked out the door this evening to pick up a few items at Target, I thought to myself, I really hope I don’t run into anyone I know because I look like hell. I never really put any make-up on this morning, shoveled a driveway full of “heart attack” snow, and spent the day dealing with one fictional crisis after another. Take your pick. Alex crying because I didn’t turn his TV show on before taking Justin to the bus. Alex crying because I made French toast instead of pancakes. Alex crying and trying to hit me because tomorrow isn’t his birthday. Alex crying and slamming doors because I won’t take him to a toy store to buy a Dora doll. Justin crying because Penny stole a water chestnut from his fork when he wasn’t paying attention. Justin crying because he needs a bigger shovel. Alex crying because he didn’t get to go outside to shovel. Alex crying because the macaroni and cheese doesn’t taste good. Alex whining because Cameron turned off Shrek. David yelling at his brothers for existing. Cameron upset because he just wants David to treat him like a human being. David pissed off because we’re out of Cheez-Its.

By the time 6:30 rolled around, I was ready to just crawl in bed with a sleeve of Thin Mints and call it a night. But the next best thing was to at least get out of the house for a bit, no matter what state I was in. So naturally I ended up seeing the person I least wanted to see. The who, what and whys are not important, but it was not pleasant.

There’s a trend you may have seen on Facebook. A profession, a title, a hobby, with pictures of how they are viewed by others and themselves. I drew up something similar for my situation.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2012

One thought on “Bad Encounter

Leave a Reply

