Why Don’t You Take A Picture, It’ll Last Longer

My pretty orchid. It's on my mantle next to my niece and nephew's picture. I shouldn't be allowed to own plants. If there were a PETA for plants, I'd be in jail.

Jeez, I’m going through just either a terrible bout of writer’s block or serious demotivation lately. I’m just not inspired to write a thing. And it’s not as if my kids haven’t given me enough material. They always do. I just can’t seem to put it into words.

Today I took Justin and Alex downtown to the Macy’s Flower Show. My dad and husband are big fans of the flower show. They were dragged to it about ten years ago and haven’t let me live it down. Whatever. I like it. It smelled amazing. The theme was Brasil, with rainforest and Carnaval inspired blooms.

Anyway, I bought an orchid. I’m notoriously terrible with plants, indoor and outdoor. So if anyone wants to start the pool on how long I can keep this thing alive, I’d say the over/under is about 60 days. And that would be about a record for me, but the little tag says that the plant doesn’t need to be watered for like 20 days, which is right up my alley.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2012

2 thoughts on “Why Don’t You Take A Picture, It’ll Last Longer

  1. Killing plants seems to be a family curse in our house 😉 I’ve partially killed a cactus and their tough plants that live in deserts! My mum has an orchid and it’s pretty much the only thing alive in the house. The wierd aerial/roots things always look alien to me but aparently they use them to breath!

Leave a Reply

