Feeding The Beasts

Here’s why I don’t do a ton of shopping at Costco. Because the more food in the house, the more my four boys seem to eat. Tuesday I made trip there. Here’s a partial list of what I bought, and the disposition of the items.

4 lbs of plums – Gone.

32 tubes of Go-Gurt – Gone.

24 pouches of Annie’s Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks – Gone.

5 boxes of cereal – 2 gone.

10 bananas – 7 gone. (Actually that’s more my fault, I ate like four or five of them. I love bananas.)

20 packages of mini muffins – Gone.

5 lb tub of Nestlé Toll House chocolate chip cookie dough – 1/3 gone.

3 giant seedless cucumbers – 1 gone.

72 mini bagel pizzas – 12 gone.

They ate all this in two and a half days. I jokingly say that when they all get older I’ll have to take out a second mortgage just to feed them, but as that day approaches, I’m not altogether sure it’s a joke anymore. This isn’t even taking into consideration the four boxes of macaroni and cheese, 8 packages of microwave popcorn, four bags of potato chips, gallon of milk, gallon of ice cream, loaf of bread, and the pound of deli salami they went through over the weekend.

Tomorrow is the start of spring break. I might have to invest in a few Mega Millions lottery tickets to prepare.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2012

Leave a Reply

