Mega Millions

I never buy lottery tickets. I often fantasize what I would do if I won the lottery, but I never buy tickets. Since the $640 million Mega Millions jackpot is all anyone is talking about today, I bought a few. I know the odds are ridiculously long, but what the hell. Weirder things have happened.

I figure that if I took the lump sum payout, that even with the most conservative returns on investment, I’d easily net a good $2-3 million per year in just interest. I’d be cool with that. I’ve read several articles about how almost all big lottery winners end up with nothing in a few years. That’s just amazing to me.

With a half a billion though, I think even the most irresponsible winner would be hard-pressed to squander all of that. I know I wouldn’t. Here would be my immediate plans once the dust had settled, and I’d found a responsible team of lawyers and investment managers to help me out with strategy and setting up trusts for individuals I’d want to provide for.

  • Take the whole fam to Disney World. Because…duh.
  • Bigger house, decorated beautifully but simply. Not a mansion, just more space. Not because I’m pretentious, but because it would make life with four kids a little easier. Maybe a swimming pool, though. And a tennis court. Maybe.
  • Devote my time to running a charitable foundation with the money.
    • Merit-based college scholarships.
    • A fund to pay household expenses for families who have to take a leave from work to care for sick children.
    • Ronald McDonald House
    • Grants to help provide obstetrical care for women in underdeveloped countries.
  • Then I’m pretty sure that on every break from school we’d travel the world, taking along whomever wanted to go. Costa Rica, Paris, India, Argentina, Fiji, New York City, Alaska, Greece, London, Sweden, South Africa, Eastern Europe, Japan, Australia, Rome, Nantucket, Grenada, Montréal, Morocco, Maui, Nice, Thailand, San Francisco, Munich.

I think they’re drawing the numbers soon. See you at the press conference.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2012

Leave a Reply

