Party Like It’s 2007

Depending on your point of view, I had either the best New Year’s Eve of all time, or the absolute worst. I lean toward the former. My husband and I are both getting over a post-Christmas stomach bug, and I planned on making some snacks for the kids, throwing in a movie, and that’s it. David, being on the verge of 13, naturally had plans that in no way involved us. But to my surprise, Barry took it upon himself to take the younger guys over to our neighbor’s New Year’s Eve party solo. It was almost too good to be true.

I watched Knocked Up on E! (Yes, it’s five years old, but no, I’ve never seen it. That’s where I am in terms of keeping up with pop culture.), uninterrupted. Then Justin and Alex came home, tired and cranky, but were passed out by 10:00. Cameron stuck it out until midnight, lighting Chinese lanterns. I could hear fireworks outside my window, but slept a warm and peaceful sleep with my puppy dog while Barry watched football downstairs.

Best night. Cheers to many more like it in 2013!

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2013

 

Leave a Reply

