For My Birthday

Near verbatim phone conversation with my five-year-old. I don’t think he took a breath.

Alex: “Mom. I have to tell you this. I need to tell you this. For my birthday I want you to get me a new umbrella because Cameron broke my Spider-Man umbrella. For my birthday. He broke it. It’s like a broom now. And, for my birthday, I want you to call the lady from the witch house and ask her to make me more cookies for my birthday. Because I gave my Dorothy cookie to Karlie. And Justin and I ate the Glinda. So for my birthday I want you to get me more cookies. And a new umbrella. And other stuff too. For my birthday.”

Me: “Ok. I’ll do that. I love you.”

Alex: “Ok. Love you too. Bye.”

Incidentally, his birthday isn’t until April.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2013

Leave a Reply

