Gonna Pop Some Tags

My previous posts about my thrift store excursions (see Goodwill Tour and Goodwill Hunting) have been quite popular. Yesterday I spent some time at the newly opened local Goodwill store to scour the place for some useable items for my friend’s 80s Boom Box Bash tomorrow night. Among other things, I came away with a white sport coat for Barry’s Miami Vice look, and lots of neon. The problem with dressing up though, is that stuff I would have worn in the 80s as a teenager, wouldn’t necessarily have been what I would have worn in the 80s as, well…not a teenager. But that’s all I know. And I’m going to be way age inappropriate, but that’s all right.

Anyway, in my exploration I did come across some other finds. I wasn’t as good a documentarian as I have been in the past, probably because the new store isn’t quite as tacky (and is slightly overpriced) compared to the Savers and Goodwills I’ve visited in the past. Plus I was on a mission. But there was some good stuff nonetheless. For instance…

I think if you have to come out and SAY you are "really cool sunglasses," maybe you're really not cool sunglasses.

I think if you have to come out and SAY you are “really cool sunglasses,” maybe you’re really not cool sunglasses.

These are the scariest fucking "Nativity Angels," no, the scariest fucking ANYTHING I've ever seen. These would turn the Pope into an atheist.

These are the scariest fucking “Nativity Angels,” no, the scariest fucking ANYTHING I’ve ever seen.

I almost bought this for my brother. But I thought $1.99 was too much to part with considering the mere mention of the words "Mmm Bop" will send his head spinning for a week.

Almost bought this for my brother. But $1.99? I’ll pass. The mere mention of the words “Mmm Bop” will make his head spin.

Not sure how Ralph Lauren managed to stay in business competing with a fashion powerhouse like "Space for ladys."

Not sure how Ralph Lauren managed to stay in business competing with a fashion powerhouse label like “Space for ladys.”

A "Twilight" iPhone case. Just...no.

A “Twilight” iPhone case. Just…no.

In the immortal words of Dana Carvey as George H.W. Bush, "Dan Quayle. Still. Gaining. Acceptance."

In the immortal words of Dana Carvey as George H.W. Bush, “Dan Quayle. Still. Gaining. Acceptance.”

Camera graveyard. Wish I'd come across an old Kodak Disc camera. Anyone have one of those? Atrocious color.

Camera graveyard. Wish I’d come across an old Kodak Disc camera. Anyone have one of those? Atrocious color.

Girl group Verbatim. Sorry sweeties, I think it *was* just a dream because I've never heard of you.

Girl group Verbatim. Sorry sweeties, I think it *was* all a dream because no one has ever heard of you.

Classic 80s flick. The only redeeming thing about Matthew Modine's hairstyle is that it's not a mullet.

Classic 80s flick. The only redeeming thing about Matthew Modine’s hairstyle is that it’s not a mullet.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2013

Leave a Reply

