Gas Pains

Know what I hate? Pumping gas. Know why? This.

Pay here or pay inside?
PAY HERE
Push credit or debit.
CREDIT
Enter your zip code.
55317
Do you want to use your rewards card at the pump?
NO
Do you want a car wash today?
NO
Authorizing…..
Approved.
Would you like a receipt?
NO
Select grade.
87
Lift handle and begin fueling.

You know what I would like to do? I would like to pump my gas. It’s 11 goddamn degrees out and I would like to get out of the wind and get back into my car. That’s it. That’s what I want to do.

A Cold War spy going through code phrases to gain entry to a safe house in Prague had fewer hoops to jump though.

“Have you seen the symphony?”
“The cat rides at midnight.”
Access granted.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2014

3 thoughts on “Gas Pains

  1. Here’s what I would like. The old days. I drove up to Deep Rock gas station. I rolled down my window. I said, “Fill it up.”The attendant said,” Do you need your oil checked?” I said “No, but would you check the tires?” He did. Then, while the car continued to be filled, he washed my windows. I then gave a small wave of thanks. Didn’t even have to sign the ticket. We were billed monthly. Those were the days, and that is what I liked.

  2. i agree. my local gas station finally disabled those annoying video screens on the pumps. leave me the heck alone, let me pump my gas and move on. and yes, especially when it is so cold. filling your car with gas is a necessity, not a leisure activity. bring back the guy in the uniform who did it all for you, please.

Leave a Reply

