The Baseball Bunch

This spring and summer I have four guys playing on five different baseball teams. David and Cameron are both on a traveling tournament team in addition to their in-house league teams, and Justin and Alex play on the same coach pitch team, coached by my husband. That’s a lot of baseball. And a boatload of laundry. I love everything about baseball though, so other than the logistics of getting everyone to and from where they need to be, I enjoy it. Especially on a night like tonight where David’s team won by a single run in a very well-played game. Cameron had a practice at the same time and place as David’s game, and Justin and Alex played a game at the park that is pretty much in our backyard.

With Alex I use the term “played” rather loosely. By the time I showed up after David’s game, he was sitting by my friend, Amber, telling her stories about The Wizard of Oz. He dismissed my suggestion that he go up to bat or grab his glove to play the field, telling me that “it’s boring.” I’ve known Amber for a long time, and Alex has met her several times before. But we see her regularly now since her son is playing on Justin and Alex’s team. He knows her name is Amber, but for some reason has decided that her name should be “Jade.” And since she told him she thought Jade was a cool name, he’s called her Jade for several weeks. It’s so weird. So he spent most of the game talking with Amber/Jade, both names of colorful ornamental stones, which I doubt he knows.

David grabbed a high throw, and threw down a tag on this guy trying to steal second. Out.

A visit to the port-a-potty is apparently more interesting than the ballgame.

He gets the Most Cutest Player award at least.

Justin in his straight-up stance with David, Penny and Alex (sort of) looking on.

He got a hold of that one.

© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2012

One thought on “The Baseball Bunch

  1. i love baseball, too, honey. got a tip for ya, in case you don’t have enough to do. i waited till my son was in college because i didnt want to be one of “those” moms. but i didnt know anyone on the spring trip to phoenix so i started keeping score. made a lot of friends cause everyone wanted to know who did what that time and whats the score. wish i had done it sooner, but as i said, i didn’t want to be one of those moms. i learned a lot about the game, finally to my husbands final gratification and enjoyed it more. i really enjoy your posts. your sons are handsome and you must be exhausted at the end of the day.

Leave a comment